Programme scientifique

Le programme scientifique détaillé du congrès sera établi par le comité scientifique de l’année 2017, dès lors que tous les résumés soumis par les participants seront évalués.

Consultez à présent le programme détaillé des sessions qui seront traduites en français !

Vous pouvez consulter le programme de la semaine ainsi que le programme détaillé des interventions.

Vous pouvez également consulter la version finale l’Abstract Book.

 

Nous sommes ravis d’annoncer des conférences invitées passionnantes assurées par des scientifiques prestigieux :

Sessions spéciales – Ateliers

Nous sommes heureux de vous annoncer que des sessions spéciales ainsi que des ateliers seront au programme du congrès UIBG 2017.

Vous pouvez en consulter le programme ici.

Séances plénières :

Jean-Dominique Lebreton (CNRS, France)
“To be or not to be a sustainable game : a demographer’s point-of- view”

Byron K. Williams (The Wildlife Society, EU)
“Connecting science and decision making in the management of natural resources”

Conférenciers principaux :

Elisabeth Bro (ONCFS, France)
“Galliforms and pesticides: what was/is going on in the field?”

Marie-Pierre Ryser (Faculté Vetsuisse, Université de Berne, Suisse)
“From wildlife population management to planetary health – a multidisciplinary challenge”

Henrik Andrén (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Suède)
“Predator – prey interactions in human dominated landscapes”

Jesper Madsen (Aarhus University, Danemark)
“Getting started with adaptive management of migratory waterbirds in Europe: the challenge of multifaceted interests”

Giovanna Massei (Animal and Plant Health Agency, RU)
“Mitigating human-wildlife conflicts in an overcrowded continent: wild boar as a case study”

Péter Hajas and Prof. Dr. Sándor Faragó (University of West Hungary, Hongrie)
“Recovering grey partridges: A genuine intersection of sustainable farming, wildlife conservation and management”

John Linnell (Norwegian Institute for Nature Research, Norvège)
“Coexistence between wildlife and humans: contrasting insights from wildlife management and conservation biology “

Luca Corlatti (Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies, Allemagne)
“What are men to mountain mammals?”

Jean-Michel Gaillard (ONCFS, France)
“How do ungulates respond to environmental changes in temperate ecosystems?”

Stanley D. Gehrt (Ohio State University, EU)
“Carnivores Among People: Urban Ecology of Carnivores with Insights from Coyotes in Chicago”

scientific-program_lebreton-resize

Jean-Dominique LEBRETON

Jean-Dominique Lebreton est membre de l’Académie Française des Sciences et Directeur de recherche émérite au Centre d’Écologie Fonctionnelle et Évolutive du CNRS, à Montpellier. Après une expérience dans le domaine des statistiques, Jean-Dominique possède un vaste dossier de recherche en dynamique des populations et en biologie de la conservation qui fut d’une grande influence dans le domaine de la gestion de la faune sauvage. (Ses publications ont été citées 11000 fois selon Research Gate). Avec son équipe de recherche, Jean-Dominique a considérablement contribué au développement de la théorie Capture – Marquage – Recapture et d’outils analytiques, largement basés sur le programme à long terme de baguage des mouettes à tête noire qu’il a lui-même dirigé. Jean-Dominique a cependant travaillé sur une plus large variété d’espèces, avec un intérêt tout particulier pour celles produites par l’Homme. En tant qu’expert de la démographie de ces populations, il est un membre de longue date du comité scientifique de l’ONCFS.

Byron Kenneth WILLIAMS

Ken Williams est le directeur exécutif de la Wildlife Society, une organisation à but non lucratif qui représente des professionnels de la faune sauvage dans le monde entier. Il a occupé des postes de direction dans trois agences fédérales, un poste académique en tant que professeur associé à l’Université du Vermont et plusieurs postes de science et de gestion au Patuxent Wildlife Research Centre à Laurel, dans le Maryland. Il est titulaires de diplômes supérieurs en mathématiques et statistiques et d’un doctorat en écologie / gestion des ressources naturelles de l’Université d’État du Colorado. Le Dr Williams a été très impliqué pendant de nombreuses années dans le développement de cadres pour l’intégration de la science et de la gestion des ressources naturelles. Ses contributions comprennent la paternité principale du Plan stratégique des écosystèmes de l’USGS, le Guide technique de la gestion adaptative du ministère américain de l’Intérieur, le Guide des applications de la gestion adaptative de la DOI, le Plan Stratégique 2015-2019 de la Wildlife Society ainsi que plus d’une centaine de publications scientifiques.

Elisabeth Bro

Elisabeth Bro dirige l'équipe Perdrix Grise, Faisans et Plaines de grande culture à l'Office National de la Chasse et de la Faune Sauvage (ONCFS). Ses projets récents se sont notamment portés sur la problématique de l'écotoxicologie aviaire. Elle a en particulier développé avec ses collègues une étude de terrain à grande échelle pour étudier les effets involontaires des pesticides actuels sur la mortalité et la reproduction de la perdrix grise (prise alors comme étude de cas). Des résultats innovants ont été obtenus à partir de l’exposition potentielle des oiseaux et de leurs couvées à un large éventail de pesticides, de la mortalité qui leur est associée et des taux d’éclosion, ainsi que des contaminations des reproducteurs et des œufs en conditions opérationnelles. Ces résultats ont fait l’objet de plusieurs articles scientifiques publiés dans des revues internationales de renom et ont été présentés sous forme de communication scientifique lors de nombreux congrès. Elle proposera une vision d’ensemble de l’écotoxicologie terrestre, thème généralement sous-documenté en ce qui concerne les oiseaux des terres cultivées. Son intervention fournira un état de l’art sur ce sujet (en se concentrant sur les galliformes), ainsi qu’un retour de sa propre expérience. Il soulignera également les lacunes actuelles des connaissances et les défis que soulève cette question, afin de stimuler la recherche et les collaborations.

scientific-program_ryser-resize

Marie-Pierre RYSER

Marie-Pierre Ryser-Degiorgis dirige le groupe Wildlife au Centre for Fish and Wildlife Health à l'Université de Berne en Suisse. Elle est diplômée du Collège Européen de médecine zoologique dans la spécialité Santé de la population faunique, membre du groupe de travail sur la faune de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Santé Animale, membre du groupe de spécialistes de la santé de la faune de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature et l'actuelle présidente de l'Association Européenne sur les maladies de la faune sauvage. Son groupe mène le programme national de surveillance de la santé de la faune sauvage en Suisse ; il contribue régulièrement à des formations sur l'hygiène de la viande sauvage, sur les maladies, l'immobilisation de la faune. Il appuie les projets de conservation (en particulier les translocations de lynx) et mène des projets de recherche liés à l'émergence des maladies au sein de la faune sauvage, au rôle des maladies dans la conservation des mammifères et aux risques que posent les agents pathogènes de la faune à la santé du bétail domestique.

Henrik ANDRÉN

Professeur en écologie de la faune sauvage à l’université suédoise des sciences agricoles, département Ecologie, à la station de recherche sur la faune sauvage de Grimsö. Les travaux de recherche d’Henrik Andrén se concentrent sur l’écologie de la population, de la communauté et du paysage, en particulier la dynamique des populations de grands carnivores et l’interaction avec leurs proies, y compris les proies domestiques. Sa recherche peut être qualifiée d’appliquée par de nombreux aspects et comprend notamment la gestion adaptative des grands carnivores.

Jesper MADSEN

Jesper est professeur (Docteur ès Sciences) au département de biosciences - Kalø, Université d'Aarhus au Danemark. Il travaille sur l'écologie de la faune sauvage, en mettant l'accent sur l'écologie des oiseaux d'eau migrateurs et leur gestion, depuis les zones d'élevage de l'Arctique, le long des itinéraires de migration jusqu'aux zones d'hivernage. Depuis 2012, il coordone le premier plan européen de gestion adaptative des oiseaux d'eau. Il préside le groupe de spécialistes Waterbird Harvest de Wetlands International et fournit des expertises scientifiques aux autorités nationales, à l'Accord sur les oiseaux d'eau Afrique-Eurasie et à la Commission Européenne.

Giovanna MASSEI

Giovanna est une écologiste senior basée à York, au Royaume-Uni. Elle a obtenu son Master en sciences à l'Université de Florence (Italie) et son doctorat à l'Université d'Aberdeen (Royaume-Uni). Giovanna a plus de 25 ans d'expérience en matière d'approches non létales pour atténuer les conflits Homme / faune et a travaillé largement sur la question de la faune sauvage, le comportement des animaux et le contrôle de la fertilité des animaux sauvages et des chiens errants. Giovanna a publié plus de 120 articles scientifiques et de vulgarisation. Elle est rédactrice en chef de la revue Human-Wildlife Interactions et elle est conseillère scientifique pour le groupe EAZA sur la contraception animale dans les zoos. Elle a collaboré avec des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux, ainsi qu'avec des partenaires universitaires au Royaume-Uni, et dans des pays tels que Montserrat, l'Inde, l'Italie, l'Espagne, Hong-Kong, le Maroc, le Népal et les Etats-Unis. En 2010, Giovanna a organisé le 8ème Symposium international sur le sanglier et autres suidés à York, et, en 2012, elle a dirigé à York également la 1ère conférence internationale sur la geston de la population de chiens.

scientific-program_hajas-resize

Péter Pál HAJAS

P. P. Hajas est candidat à un doctorat à l'Institute of Wildlife Management and Vertebrate Zoology à l'Université de Hongrie Occidentale. Il participe depuis 2004 à des projets de démonstration de conservation du gibier des terres agricoles, principalement axés sur le rétablissement et la réintroduction des perdrix grises. Afin de combler les lacunes entre la science et la pratique, il a été actif dans de nombreux domaines, allant de l'amélioration des techniques de contrôle de la prédation à l'adoption de pratiques agricoles durables, qui servent à la fois la modernisation écologique de l'agriculture et la conservation de la biodiversité des terres agricoles. Il est actuellement employé par l'Agricultural and Rural Development Agency (ARDA) en tant que directeur de succursale de comté dans le comté de Nograd, en Hongrie.

John LINNELL

John Linnell est titulaire d’un doctorat en zoologie de l’Université de Cork, Université Nationale d’Irlande. Il est maintenant chercheur principal au Norwegian Institute for Nature Research de Trondheim, où il occupe un poste permanent depuis 1999. Son domaine d’expérience comprend des approches interdisciplinaires afin d’étudier les interactions entre l’Homme et la vie sauvage, de mener des recherches pertinentes sur les politiques relatives à la conservation de la faune dans les environnements dominés par l’activité humaine, et de communiquer ses résultats à travers l’interface science-politique. John travaille sur les ongulés et les mammifère (comme les rennes, les caribous, les bœufs musqués, les lynx, les carcajous, les loups, les ours, mais aussi les léopards et les jaguars, etc.), dans divers pays d’Europe (Norvège, Etats Baltes, Balkans Occidentaux), tout comme dans des lieux plus exotiques tels que l’Inde, la Birmanie, le Brésil ou encore le Turkménistan. Il est l’auteur de plus de 200 articles scientifiques et de chapitres dans des livres édités, en plus d’une importante activité de publication pour les décideurs et le grand public via des rapports techniques et des articles de vulgarisation scientifique.

scientific-program_corlatti-resize

Luca CORLATTI

Luca Corlatti est un boursier postdoctoral Marie Curie au Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies en Allemagne. Il collabore avec la chaire d’écologie et de gestion de la faune (Université de Fribourg), avec l’Institut de biologie de la faune et de la gestion du gibier (University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences de Vienne, Autriche), avec le Parc National de Stelvio (Italie) et avec l’unité de recherche d’écologie du comportement, éthologie et gestion de la faune sauvage (Université de Sienne, Italie). Au cours de son doctorat, il a mis l’accent sur l’évolution des systèmes d’accouplement des ongulés des montagnes, en particulier sur les mécanismes impliquant le maintien de techniques alternatives sur une population de chamois alpins dans le parc naturel Gran Paradiso (Italie). Ses objets de recherche actuels incluent le rôle de l’influence anthropique sur les traits de l’histoire de la vie des ongulés des montagnes, ainsi que sur d’autres aspects tels que la dynamique des populations, les mouvements spatiaux et l’estimation de l’abondance des mammifères des montagnes vivants dans différentes zones de l’arc alpin.

Jean-Michel GAILLARD

J-M. Gaillard est Directeur de Recherche au CNRS au sein de l’Unité de Recherche « Biométrie et Biologie Evolutive » à l’Université de Lyon. La recherche de Jean-Michel se concentre sur la compréhension des processus évolutifs dans les populations des grands mammifères à partir des analyses de leur dynamique et sur l’identification des stratégies d’histoire de vie des vertébrés à partir d’études comparatives. Plus récemment, il a travaillé sur la manière dont les populations de vertébrés réagissent aux changements climatiques. Il s’intéresse également à l’élaboration de nouvelles stratégies de gestion afin de minimiser les conflits entre les activités humaines et les espèces de grand gibier dans un environnement en mutation, en étroite collaboration avec l’ONCFS. Jean-Michel a publié près de 300 articles scientifiques et a été rédacteur associé de six revues scientifiques. Il est actuellement rédacteur en chef de la revue Journal of Animal Ecology. Ses travaux sont largement cités dans la littérature scientifique.

Stanley D. GEHRT

Stan Gehrt est professeur d’écologie de la faune sauvage à l’Université d’Etat de l’Ohio et président du Centre for Wildlife Research la Max McGraw Wildlife Foundation. Son programme de recherche se concentre sur divers aspects de l’écologie des mammifères, en particulier des systèmes urbains, et de la dynamique des maladies de la faune et des conflits entre les humains et les carnivores. Il a étudié l’écologie urbaine de divers mammifères, y compris les chauves-souris, les ratons laveurs, les mouffettes, etc. Il est l’enquêteur principal d’une étude de 16 ans sur les coyotes dans la région de Chicago, qui a impliqué la capture et le suivi de plus de 1000 sujets sur 9 millions. D’autres de ses recherches actuelles se penchent sur l’écologie des coyotes dans le parc national des Hautes Terres du Cap Breton, en Nouvelle-Ecosse. Stan a publié plus d’une centaine d’articles et autres publications scientifiques, y compris le volume Urban Carnivores, publié par John Hopkins University Press, et ses recherches ont été présentées dans de nombreux postes de presse, de radio et de télévision.

Scientific Programme

The detailed scientific programme of the congress will be established by the scientific committee 2017, when all abstracts submitted by the participants will have been evaluated.

Find the preliminary programme of the week here and the detailed programme.

You can also see the provisional version of the Congress Abstract Book !

We are however already delighted to announce exciting invited talks by prestigious scientists:

Special Sessions – Workshops:

We are pleased to announce that there will be special sessions and workshops at the IUGB 2017 Congress.

Find here the programme

Plenary talks:

Jean-Dominique Lebreton (CNRS, France)
on “To be or not to be a sustainable game : a demographer’s point-of- view”

Byron K. Williams (The Wildlife Society, USA)
on “Connecting science and decision making in the management of natural resources”

Keynote speakers:

Elisabeth Bro (ONCFS, France)
on “Galliforms and pesticides: what was/is going on in the field?”

Marie-Pierre Ryser (Vetsuisse Faculty, University of Bern, Switzerland)
on on “From wildlife population management to planetary health – a multidisciplinary challenge”

Henrik Andrén (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences)
on “Predator – prey interactions in human dominated landscapes”

Jesper Madsen (Aarhus University, Denmark)
on “Getting started with adaptive management of migratory waterbirds in Europe: the challenge of multifaceted interests”

Giovanna Massei (Animal and Plant Health Agency, UK)
on “Mitigating human-wildlife conflicts in an overcrowded continent: wild boar as a case study”

Péter Hajas and Prof. Dr. Sándor Faragó (University of West Hungary)
on “Recovering grey partridges: A genuine intersection of sustainable farming, wildlife conservation and management”

John Linnell (Norwegian Institute for Nature Research,Trondheim)
on “Coexistence between wildlife and humans: contrasting insights from wildlife management and conservation biology “

Luca Corlatti (Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies, Germany)
on “What are men to mountain mammals?”

Jean-Michel Gaillard (ONCFS, France)
on “How do ungulates respond to environmental changes in temperate ecosystems?”

Stanley D. Gehrt (Ohio State University)
on “Carnivores Among People: Urban Ecology of Carnivores with Insights from Coyotes in Chicago”

Jean-Dominique LEBRETON

Jean-Dominique LEBRETON

Job Position

Jean-Dominique Lebreton is a Member of the French Academy of Sciences and an Emeritus Director of Research at the Centre d’Ecologie Fonctionnelle et Evolutive, CNRS, Montpellier. With a background in statistics, Jean-Dominique has an extensive research record on population dynamics and conservation biology, which has been influential to many in the wildlife management sphere (his publications led to 11,000 citations after researchgate). With his research team, Jean-Dominique has considerably contributed to the development of Capture-Mark- Recapture theory and analytical tools, largely based on the long-term Black-headed Gull ringing program he has conducted. Jean-Dominique has however worked on a wide variety of other species, with a particular interest for those harvested by Man. As an expert on the demographics of such exploited populations, he is a long-standing member of the ONCFS Scientific Committee.

Byron Kenneth WILLIAMS

Byron Kenneth WILLIAMS

Job Position

Ken Williams is Executive Director of The Wildlife Society, a non-profit organization that represents wildlife professionals throughout the world.
He has held leadership positions in three federal agencies, an academic appointment as associate professor at the University of Vermont, and several science and management positions at the Patuxent Wildlife Research Center in Laurel, Maryland.
He has advanced degrees in both mathematics and statistics and a PhD in natural resources ecology/management from Colorado State University.
Dr. Williams has been deeply involved for many years in developing frameworks for the integration of natural resources science and management.
His contributions include lead authorship of the USGS Ecosystems Strategic Plan, the U.S. Department of the Interior Adaptive Management Technical Guide, the DOI Adaptive Management Applications Guide, The Wildlife Society’s 2015-2019 Strategic Plan, and over 100 scientific publications.

Elisabeth Bro

Elisabeth Bro

Job Position

Elisabeth Bro is the Head of the Grey partridge & Ring-necked pheasant / croplands team at the French National Hunting and Wildlife Agency (ONCFS). Her recent projects included issues in avian ecotoxicology. In particular, she developed with some colleagues a large-scale field study to investigate unintended effects of current plant protection products (PPPs) on mortality and reproduction in the Grey partridge (taken as a case study). Pioneer results were obtained on the potential exposure of the birds and their clutches to a large array of PPPs, associated mortality and hatching rates, as well as contaminations of breeders and eggs in operational conditions. These results have been published in several scientific papers in reputed international journals and presented in communications in a diversity of congresses.
She will propose an overview of terrestrial ecotoxicology that is overall poorly documented for birds in croplands. The talk will provide the state of the art of this topic (focusing on galliforms), together with a feedback of her own experience. It will also highlight the current gaps of knowledge and challenges of this issue to stimulate research and collaborations.

Marie-Pierre RYSER

Marie-Pierre RYSER

Job Position

Marie-Pierre Ryser-Degiorgis heads the Wildlife Group at the Centre for Fish and Wildlife Health (FIWI), University of Bern, Switzerland. She is a diplomate of the European College of Zoological Medicine in the specialty Wildlife Population Health, a member of the Working Group on Wildlife of the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE), a member of the IUCN Wildlife Health Specialist Group, and the current chair of the European Wildlife Disease Association. Her group conducts the national wildlife health surveillance program in Switzerland; regularly contributes to courses on wild meat hygiene, wildlife diseases and wildlife immobilization; provides support to conservation projects (in particular lynx translocations); and carries out research projects related to disease emergence in wildlife, the role of diseases in mammal conservation, and the risk posed by wildlife pathogens to the health of domestic livestock.

Henrik ANDRÉN

Henrik ANDRÉN

Job Position

Professor in wildlife ecology at Swedish university of agricultural sciences, Department of Ecology, Grimsö wildlife research station. Henrik Andrén's research focuses on population, community and landscape ecology, particularly population dynamics of large carnivores and the interaction with prey, including domestic prey. The research has many applied aspects and includes adaptive management of large carnivores.

Jesper MADSEN

Jesper MADSEN

Job Position

Jesper is professor (D.Sc.) at Department of Bioscience – Kalø, Aarhus University in Denmark. He works with wildlife ecology, focusing on migratory waterbird ecology and their management, from the Arctic breeding areas, along the migration routes to the wintering grounds. Since 2012, he coordinates the first European adaptive management plan for waterbirds. He chairs the Waterbird Harvest Specialist Group of Wetlands International and provides scientific advice to national authorities, the African-Eurasian Waterbird Agreement and the European Commission.

Giovanna MASSEI

Giovanna MASSEI

Job Position

Giovanna is a senior ecologist based in York, UK. She received her BSc from Florence University (Italy) and her PhD from Aberdeen University (UK). Giovanna has over 25 years’ experience in non-lethal approaches to mitigate human-wildlife conflicts and worked extensively on wildlife management, animal behaviour and fertility control for wildlife and free-roaming dogs. Giovanna published more than 120 scientific and popular articles and she is an Associate Editor for the journal Human-Wildlife Interactions and a Scientific Advisor for the EAZA Group on Zoo Animal Contraception. She has collaborated with government and non-governmental agencies and academic partners in the UK and in countries that include Montserrat, India, Italy, Spain, Hong Kong, Morocco, Nepal and the US. In 2010 Giovanna organised the 8th International Symposium on wild boar and other suids in York, and in 2012 she led the 1st International Conference on Dog Population Management in York.

Péter Pál HAJAS

Péter Pál HAJAS

Job Position

P. P. Hajas is a PhD candidate at the Institute of Wildlife Management and Vertebrate Zoology of the University of Western Hungary. He has been involved in farmland game conservation demonstration projects since 2004, mainly focusing on recovery and re-introduction of grey partridges. In order to bridge gaps between science and practice, he has been active in many fields varying from improvement of predation control techniques to the adoption of sustainable farming practices serving both ecological modernisation of farming and the conservation of farmland biodiversity. He is currently employed by the Agricultural and Rural Development Agency (ARDA) as county branch office director in Nógrád County, Hungary.

John LINNELL

John LINNELL

Job Position

John D C Linnell has a PhD in Zoology from University College Cork, National University of Ireland. He is now a Senior researcher at the Norwegian Institute for Nature Research in Trondheim, where he has held a permanent position since 1999. His area of experience includes interdisciplinary approaches to studying human – wildlife interactions, policy relevant research related to wildlife conservation in human-dominated landscapes, and communicating results to the public and across the science-policy interface. John is working on ungulates and mammals (e.g. deers, caribou, muskox, lynx, wolverines, wolves, bears, but also leopards and jaguars, etc), in a range of countries across Europe (Norway, Baltic States, Western Balkans) as well as more exotic places such as India, Myanmar, Brazil or Turkmenistan. He is the author of > 200 scientific articles and chapters in edited books, in addition to an active publication activity for policy makers and the general public via technical reports and popular science articles.

Luca CORLATTI

Luca CORLATTI

Job Position

Luca Corlatti is a Marie Curie Postdoctoral fellow at the Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS) in Freiburg, Germany. He collaborates with the Chair of Wildlife Ecology and Management (University of Freiburg), the Institute of Wildlife Biology and Game Management (University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Vienna, Austria), the Stelvio National Park (Italy) and the Research Unit of Behavioural Ecology, Ethology and Wildlife Management (University of Siena, Italy) to investigate mountain mammals at the intersection of behavioural ecology and wildlife management. During his PhD he focussed on the evolution of mountain ungulate mating systems, specifically on the mechanisms underlying the maintenance of alternative tactics in a population of Alpine chamois within the Gran Paradiso National Park (Italy). His current research interests include the role of anthropogenic influence on life history traits of mountain ungulates, as well as other aspects such as population dynamics, spatial movements and abundance estimation of mountain-dwelling mammals in different areas of the Alpine arch.

Jean-Michel GAILLARD

Jean-Michel GAILLARD

Job Position

J-M. Gaillard is Directeur de Recherche at CNRS in the Research Unit « Biométrie et Biologie Evolutive » at the University of Lyon. Jean-Michel’s research concentrates on understanding evolutionary processes in populations of large mammals from analyses of their dynamics and identifying life history strategies of vertebrates from comparative studies. More recently, he has worked on how vertebrate populations are responding to climate change. He is also interested in developing new management strategies to minimise conflicts between human activities and large game species in a changing environment, in close collaboration with the French National Hunting and Wildlife Agency (ONCFS). Jean-Michel has published almost 300 scientific articles and has been associate editor of six scientific journals. He is currently Senior Editor of the Journal of Animal Ecology. His work is widely quoted in scientific literature.

Stanley D. GEHRT

Stanley D. GEHRT

Job Position

Stan Gehrt is Professor of Wildlife Ecology at The Ohio State University, and Chair of the Center for Wildlife Research at the Max McGraw Wildlife Foundation. His research program focuses on various aspects of mammalian ecology, especially urban systems, and dynamics of wildlife disease, and human-carnivore conflicts. He has studied the urban ecology of various mammals, including bats, raccoons, skunks, and others. He is principal investigator of a 16-year study of coyotes in the Chicago area, which has involved the capture and monitoring of over 1,000 individuals among 9 million people. Other current research includes coyote and deer ecology in Cleveland, Ohio, river otter population ecology, and a collaborative project on coyotes in Cape Breton Highlands National Park, Nova Scotia. Stan has published over 100 scientific publications, including the volume ‘Urban Carnivores’ published by Johns Hopkins University Press, and his research has been featured in numerous print, radio, and television outlets.